January’s recommended reads focuses on the topic of wellness. When you find a book you would like to explore, click on the title and be taken directly to our catalog. Happy reading!

Children

The Seventh Most Important Thing by Shelley Pearsall
This is a middle grade novel about the decisions you make in the moment, and how their consequences can change your perspective for a lifetime.

Dinos Don’t Do Yoga by Catherine Bailey
A mix of silly and sweet in the Jurassic age, Bailey tells the story of the land before time (and yoga) until a yogi dinosaur moves in and proves yoga is for everyone – regardless of shape or ability!

A Mindful Walk with my Grandma by Sheri Mabry
This is a sweet story about a child and her grandmother on a nature walk with a wonderful lesson about being present. Illustrations by Wazza Pink are charming and calm – with little hidden surprises on every page!

Breathe Like a Bear by Kira Willey
Breathe Like a Bear is full of beautifully illustrated mindfulness practices for your child (and you!) to feel focused and calm in any situation.

You Matter by Christian Robinson
You Matter is a lovely, heartwarming, colorful book by author and illustrator Christian Robinson. His powerful words and fun imagery pair for a message kids and parents will love.

Women Who Dared by Linda Skeers
This collection of 52 stories and illustrations of little-known, but remarkable women will inspire the little humans in your life to discover, play, and fight for what they believe in!

Groundbreaking Guys by Stephanie True Peters
Groundbreaking Guys is a powerful collection of 40 mini-biographies of world-changing men whose stories your children will love to read about.

Calm – Mindfulness for Kids by Wynne Kinder
This book of lessons and activities will teach adults and children how to slow down and be mindful in each moment.

I Promise by LeBron James
I Promise is a bright and lively picture book written by NBA star LeBron James. The colorful illustrations engage young readers while providing them a message of resilience and a pledge to be the best version of themselves.

The Complete Cookbook for Young Chefs
This easy-to-follow cookbook from America’s Test Kitchen contains simple recipes kids will love with common ingredients and helpful tips to make their recipes a success!

Teen​

This Moment is Your Life by Miriam Gates
This book has great illustrations by Libby VanderPloeg that bring humor and light to Miriam Gates well-researched guides for yoga, meditation, and mindfulness.

Body Talk edited by Kelly Jensen
37 YA authors and icons share their stories of joy, shame, and marvel about the bodies they experience life in. Their powerful messages bring comfort and understanding to teens that exist in a world that is too often unkind.

True or False by Cindy L. Otis
True or False is a handbook for analyzing information in the age of fake news – written by a CIA Analyst! This guide will help teens to understand the information they are being presented and teach them to combat the spread misinformation on the internet.

Zen Teen by Tanya Carroll Richardson
Zen Teen contains real-life advice for mindfulness and wellness activities -written specifically for teens. It details common practices like journaling or meditation, and helpful tips on having the best experience with each!

This Book is Anti-Racist by Tiffany Jewell
This colorful and informative book tackles big topics like racism, sexism, and intersectionality in a way that will help teens understand their own identity and how to respect others.

Brazen: Rebel Ladies who Rocked the World by Penelope Bagieu
Brazen is a wonderfully curated graphic novel by French illustrator Penelope Bagieu. Each incredible woman from history featured in this collection is introduced with full-page art as well as a comic strip that encompass her life and story.

The How-To Cookbook for Teens by Julee Morrison
This cookbook starts with the basics- knife skills, how to cook an egg, and progresses into more difficult meals for teens who are preparing for college, or just learning to cook for themselves!

Mindfulness for Teens by Jennie Marie Battistin
With the promise of 10 minutes a day dedicated to mindfulness, this book delivers helpful advice to make the most of a busy schedule to improve your mood, flexibility, and focus.

The Self Love Revolution by Virgie Tovar
Written specifically for young people of color, but is tremendously meaningful for readers of any age or identity. The Self Love Revolution teaches its readers to gain self-esteem and challenge mainstream beauty standards.

Courageous Creativity by Sara Zarr
In Courageous Creativity, National Book Award finalist Sara Zarr shares her creative advice and exercises that are useful for readers who have been crafty their whole lives, and those who are just getting started and need a little encouragement.

Adult

The Me Without by Jacqueline Raposo
Feeling like she wasn’t where she wanted to be in her personal life, with her health, and financially, journalist Jacqueline Raposo strictly weeded her life of the things she suspected were bringing her down. This book is a document of her adventures in the year without; things she learned, hiccups, and helpful hints for any “withouts” you would like to undertake as well.

The Year of No Nonsense by Meredith Atwood
A self-help book for fans of Rachel Hollis, The Year of No Nonsense is full of similarly humorous and well-intentioned, but strict advice that feels like it’s coming from a good friend who has your best interests at heart. 

And Then We Grew Up by Rachel Friedman
Artist and former violist Rachel Friedman reconnects with fellow students of the prestigious art camp she attended as a child in an attempt to reignite creativity in herself, and to see how her peers maintained their artistic lives as adults. This book is full of lessons learned by herself and others and serves as a guide to foster that work/life balance for readers of all kinds. 

You Suck at Cooking by You Suck at Cooking
From the popular YouTube channel comes this hilarious, but helpful guide to cooking basics and simple recipes that will keep you from UberEats-ing your way through quarantine.

Eat, Laugh, Talk! by Lynn Barendsen
Eat, Laugh, Talk is a cookbook for families. Delicious recipes, stories from real families, and tips for managing busy schedules combine for a goal of enjoyable dinners that foster family time everyone will look forward to.

Girl’s Garage by Emily Pilloton
Do you stealthily avoid the employees at the home improvement store, or just toss things that only need minor improvements? This book contains practical advice on how to build and fix safely and how to find just what you need in the hardware aisle.

How to be Antiracist by Ibram X. Kendi
How to be Antiracist is less of a how-to guide and more of a historical understanding of racism and a vision for an antiracist future. Kendi, who now leads the BU Center for Antiracist Research, packed this book with concise and useful anecdotes from his own life to help readers understand their role in society and the ways in which they may work together for an equitable future. 

Growing Tomorrow by Forrest Pritchard
18 sustainable farms across the country shared their stories, ethics, and delicious recipes that you’ll find yourself adding to your menu and revisiting for years to come.

How to They Them by Stuart Gettty
This humorous, but wonderfully informative guide uses comics and personal accounts to teach readers how to engage with people who identify as nonbinary. Read this visual guide for a better understanding, lighthearted humor, and the history of gender identity.

Start Where You Are by Meera Lee Patel
Use this interactive guide as a template for your own personal journal. If you’re anything like me, you’ve started dozens of journals with the ambition of helping you sort out your messy life, only to use them as embarrassing coasters from March to when you inevitably resign to throwing them away. Just me? Anyway, this journal contains varying prompts and exercises to keep journaling interesting and enjoyable, so 2021 just might be the year to actually remember!

Scroll to Top