Our March reads celebrate Women’s History Month with stories of strong female protagonists by women authors. When you find a book you would like to explore,click on the title and be taken directly to our catalog. Happy reading!

Children

Other Words for Home by Jasmine Warga
Jude and her mother come to live in the US, leaving her father and brother behind in Syria. In this new country Jude finds new challenges, but also a new sense of self and possibility.

When Mischief Came to Town by Katrina Nannestad
After losing her mother, Inge Maria has to move from cosmopolitan Copenhagen to the tiny island of Bornholm to live with her Grandmother. She (and the town) soon finds her personality far too big for the remote island. In an adorable, bright, and hilarious adventure, Inge Maria finds that a little mischief might be just what Bornholm needed.

Born Curious by Martha Freeman
Born Curious is a biography of 20 women scientists from all different backgrounds with bright illustrations to inspire children to work hard to achieve their dreams!

Bold and Brave by Kristin Gillibrand
This compilation by US Senator Kristin Gillibrand introduces young readers to 10 amazing women who worked in the Suffragist Movement to win women the right to vote.

Freedom, We Sing by Amyra Leon
This sweet story of a mother imparting love and wisdom to her young daughter is written by Amyra Leon and beautifully illustrated by Molly Mendoza. 

Parker Looks Up by Parker and Jessica Curry
Based on their own experience, Parker Looks Up is about a young Black girl gazing upon the portrait of First Lady Michelle Obama and the transformative power of seeing oneself reflected in the National Portrait Gallery for the first time ever.

Cece Loves Science by Kimbery Derting
Cece is bright and curious about her world and uses the scientific method to answer her ever-growing list of questions!

Derby Daredevils (Series) by Kit Rosewater
Kenzie (AKA Kenzilla) and Shelly (AKA Bomb Shell) recruit 3 more girls to start a first-of-its-kind Roller Derby team in their middle school! This series explores their friendship, new team members, and trials of middle school they’re lucky to have one another for.

Teen​

Brazen by Penelope Bagieu
Brazen is a perfectly illustrated graphic biography of amazing women from all over the world, some who may be familiar, and some who you will want to know more about. Each profile is concluded with its own glorious, two-page, full-color illustration to celebrate the life and achievements of each woman. 

The Revolution of Birdie Randolph by Brandy Colbert
Birdie Randolph is the dream child- she’s hard-working, well-mannered, and is set to graduate at the top of her class. Everything is on track for her from her parents’ perspective, until she falls in love with an amazing guy she knows they won’t approve of, and as she engages more with the world outside her, she realizes it’s time to start living for herself.

Parachutes by Kelly Yang
Parachutes follows Dani and Claire, unlikely roommates and seniors at an elite high school in California. Coming from very different backgrounds, they both face issues in school and in their personal lives that show them they are better facing adversity together than creating it for one another.

Go With the Flow by Lily Williams
A group of 10th graders are tired of their needs being overlooked by squirmy adults who would rather talk about anything else, so they get together and raise “bloody hell” in this lighthearted graphic novel.

Bygone Badass Broads by Mackenzi Lee
By the historian and author of The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue, Bygone Badass Broads is a well-researched, but humorous compilation of 52 inspiring women who you’ll love learning about.

Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy
Willowdean Dickson is the daughter of a beauty queen who has imposed upon her a wealth of impossible beauty standards, but Willowdean is here to take. them. on. Her fearless personality, friendship, and love of Dolly Parton shine as she kicks body image where it hurts- the town’s beauty pageant.

White Rose by Kip Wilson
White Rose is a work of historical fiction written in verse about anti-nazi activist Sophie Scholl. Her story is powerful and chilling, but proof of the difference one person can make- even in the face of something as evil as the nazi regime. 

Jane Against the World by Karen Blumenthal
This incredibly well-researched discussion of Roe V. Wade takes its readers through centuries of work for women to gain control over their most basic needs- their own bodies. This book contains the history of a battle fought through generations, and still being fought today.

Adult

The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue by V.E. Schwab
Born in the 17th century, Addie LaRue wants more from life than rural France can give her, so she makes a bargain with her soul- to live as long as she wishes, but unable to make an impression. She spends her three hundred years as a muse for artists and musicians, fighting throughout the confines of life for ordinary women of her time(s).

A Thousand Ships by Natalie Haynes
Perfect for fans of Greek Mythology anxiously awaiting the next Madeline Miller novel, A Thousand Ships brings new life to ancient stories by telling them through the voices of their heroines.

Bad Feminist by Roxane Gay
Bad Feminist is a compilation of witty essays about media, pop culture, and politics from Roxane Gay.

The Four Winds by Kristin Hannah
Elsa was born in the early 20th century to a wealthy family in Texas who deemed her too homely and frail to live a full life. Anxious for freedom, she meets a man with the same desire for a bigger world and finds herself carrying his child. Burdened by the labor of farm work, they experience the midwest through the Great Depression, the Dust Bowl, and the desperate yearning for a fair fight.

The Truths We Hold by Kamala Harris
By the glass ceiling-smasher herself, The Truths We Hold is Kamala Harris’ written experience as the strong-willed child of a single mom and the girl deemed “too ambitious” by small-minded people everywhere- before she became the second-most powerful person in the country. 

Blood, Water, Paint by Joy McCullough
Blood, Water, Paint is historical fiction written in verse about baroque artist Artemisia Gentileschi. After losing her mother at a young age, Artemisia was forced to choose joining a convent or working in her father’s studio mixing paint. She chose paint and soon became his apprentice- her talent far outweighing his own. Thanks to her mother’s stories of biblical heroines, Artemisia brought a new perspective to art- the impacts of which are still being discovered today.

Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens
One of the most-requested novels in the past few years likely needs no introduction, but deserves a second look for its strong, brave, and brilliant heroine. Read this a second time, knowing the ending, for a better appreciation of Kya’s unique experience.

Our Time is Now by Stacey Abrams
After years of uncovering disenfranchisement, a contentious Georgia Gubernatorial election, and founding Fair Fight, Stacey Abrams wrote Our Time is Now to further unveil decades of voter suppression and encourage readers to demand fair elections for all.  
In some unimaginable free time, Stacey Abrams also writes romance novels. Check out her pen name, Selena Montgomery!

Scroll to Top