Our October Recommended Reads topic is Myths and Legends. These titles share ancient tales and modern retellings of myths from all over the world! When you find a book you would like to explore, click on the title and be taken directly to our catalog. Happy reading!

Children
Aru Shah Series – Roshani Chokshi
Aru Shah unwittingly freezes time and awakens an ancient demon at the Museum of Ancient Indian Art and Culture- where she lives! She and her reluctant classmates embark on the quest to defeat the demon known as The Sleeper through many worlds in ancient Indian mythology.

Oh My Gods! – Stephanie Cook
This fun, upper MG graphic novel explores Mt. Olympus Junior High through the eyes of Karen, an ordinary teenage girl from New Jersey after she is sent to live in Greece with her dad, Zed.

Percy Jackson Series – Rick Riordan
The Percy Jackson series imagines our world as it exists, but with the idea that the immortal Gods and Goddesses of Greek mythology are still in power and the theoretical space of Mount Olympus shifts to the center of global influence, which is now imagined as NYC!
When You Trap a Tiger – Tae Keller
When You Trap a Tiger is a MG work of fantasy and magical realism pulled from Korean folktales and told through the perspective of Lily, a young girl whose family just moved in with her grandmother. She finds a tiger who attempts to tell her the history of her family whose truth would change their lives forever.

Where the Mountain Meets the Moon – Grace Lin
All Are Welcome is an inclusive, uplifting, and informative picture book about a community in which people of all backgrounds and abilities are able to celebrate equally! Gods, Goddesses, and Heroes – Marzia Accatino Lonely Planet produces this beautifully illustrated collection of prominent figures in world mythology. Chiron, the centaur from Greek mythology who taught heroes Jason, Hercules, and Achilles and became the constellation Centaurus, brings young readers on a tour of myths and legends from all over the world!

Myth Match – Good Wives and Warriors
This book explores the monsters from many mythological worlds while also giving you the chance to create your own! By separating the heads and tails of each creature and explaining some features, you are able to see what if, for example- the chimera had the body of a yeti!

Cece Rios and the Desert of Souls – Kaela Rivera
When her sister goes missing, Cece Rios consults with beings of myth and legend to find her- discovering a new meaning for a storied identity along the way.

Amira and Hamza – Samira Ahmed
One day on a tour through an exhibit on medieval Islamic astrology, siblings Amira and Hamza find themselves at the center of an ancient prophecy whose outcome could mean the end of time! This story is told with humor, heart, and a healthy dose of pop culture.

Myth Atlas – Thiago de Moraes
This visually stunning atlas of mythological worlds from all over the globe illustrates the main characters in each region’s mythology, how they work together, and some anecdotes of tales and creatures!
Teen​
Lore – Alexandra Bracken
Years ago, nine gods from Greek mythology were punished for their rebellion by having to assume mortal forms once every seven years to destroy one another and steal their power in a war called the Agon. Lore, a brash 17 year old orphan who is descended from the hero Perseus, finds herself at the center of the latest war, despite her best efforts to hide from it and her past.

Bull – David Elliot
Asterion, the minotaur turns the world of Greek myth on its head in this YA novel. Read it for a new perspective on an old tale- in Hamilton-style verse!

All Out – Saundra Mitchell
The world of folktales are reimagined with diverse, queer, teen protagonists in this YA anthology and its sequel Out Now- Queer We Go Again!

Wonder Woman: Tempest Tossed – Laurie Halse Anderson
The debut graphic novel from Speak author Laurie Halse Anderson is part of the DC YA comic world and explores Princess Diana of Themyscira before she became an Amazon and the Wonder Woman we all know and love.
Ariadne – Jennifer Saint
Ariadne is the story of Theseus and the Minotaur from Greek Mythology told from the perspective of Ariadne, the princess of Crete who helped Theseus kill her half brother Asterion and escape from the labyrinth.

Loki – Mackenzie Lee
Loki, the trickster God of Norse mythology, gets to be the center of his own story in this Marvel novel by Mackenzi Lee which transcends realms of myth and earth.

The Star-Touched Queen – Roshani Chokshi
A young princess with a devastating future foretold in horoscope is set to marry in a wedding of political convenience. Thrust into a new role as Queen of Akaran, Maya discovers secrets that threaten to destroy her and her kingdom.

American Street – Ibi Zoboi
This blend of narrative fiction and magical realism begins when Fabiola and her mother leave Haiti for the US to live with their cousins. Her mother is unexpectedly detained under mysterious circumstances and Fabiola is forced to navigate her new country on her own. Her journey is shepherded by family, new friends, and strangely real Vodou deities.

Elatsoe – Darcie Little Badger
Elatsoe, nicknamed Ellie, lives in an America enhanced by the magic and abilities of indigenous peoples. When her beloved cousin is murdered, she uses all resources, including her ghost dog, Kirby, to seek justice.

The Black Sun – Rebecca Roanhorse
The Black Sun visits a Sci/Fi world of the pre-Columbian Americas on the Winter Solstice that brings about a mysterious “harmless” stranger whose presence is “cloaked in destiny”.
Adult
Circe – Madeline Miller
Circe is a retelling of the Greek myths focusing on Circe, the sea witch known for turning Odysseus’ men into pigs and further delaying his return to Ithaca, but that experience was just a short part of her immortal life as the daughter of Helios. Miller’s well-researched story turns Circe into the heroine of her own tale, and gives a new perspective on an age-old story.

Song of Achilles – Madeline Miller
Many people know the story of the Trojan War- how Achilles was destined to die a hero, how hard-fought the war to reclaim Helen for her marriage to Menelaus, but limited is the discussion of the relationship between Achilles and his companion Patroclus. The Song of Achilles is written from the perspective of Patroclus, as the boy who was exiled from his family, raised and educated by Chiron, and shared a meaningful relationship with one of the most infamous heroes of the ancient world.

A Thousand Ships – Natalie Haynes
Perfect for fans of Greek Mythology anxiously awaiting the next Madeline Miller novel, A Thousand Ships brings new life to ancient stories by telling them through the voices of their heroines.
octreads adult
Mythos – Stephen Fry
Mythos is the first of British comedian Fry’s modern exploration of the Greek myths. Ancient tales paired with classic art allow readers to immerse themselves in the worlds that inspire lifetimes of creative works.

Heroes – Stephen Fry
Heroes tells the trials of heroes like Bellerophon, Hercules, Achilles from Greek myths from their godly ancestry to their sometimes tragic end. Like in Mythos, the tales are accompanied by images of classic art inspired by the tales of these heroes over millennia.

Troy – Stephen Fry
Available as an ebook on Hoopla but anxiously awaited in hard copy, this story of Troy explores the world we know from the Trojan War, from its inception to its downfall and every legend in between.

American Gods – Neil Gaiman
American Gods and its sequel Anansi Boys are set in modern times and imagine a world where gods and demigods of myth are active in the mortal world.

Mythology – Edith Hamilton
Hamilton’s carefully explained collection of Greek myths gets a beautiful modern illustrated makeover in its 75th anniversary edition. This book is best read in a hard copy for its visual art.

Norse Mythology – Neil Gaiman
Neil Gaiman retells the tales of Norse mythology in this book which reads more like a modern fantasy novel. Listen to the audiobook- It’s narrated by the author!

Gods of Jade and Shadow – Silvia Moreno-Garcia
From the author of Mexican Gothic, Gods of Jade and Shadow is an adventure featuring Gods from Mayan mythology set in Mexico City at the dawn of the Jazz Age.
Scroll to Top